The Trumpeter Swan Society December 2010 Photograph of the Month

Trumpeter Swan close up detail by Maria Macklin

Professional Photographer and TTSS Photo-of-the-Month host Greg Smith says:

Maria’s close up photograph of a wayward swan in the United Kingdom shows the art of cropping used to induce isolation of the bird’s crisply focused bill and the water drops.

Showing only the fore part of the neck as it curves towards the bill lends a sense of balance with the water that makes up the background.  One other highlight of the neck is how is fades in focus under the chin to match the soft focus of the water.

Most wildlife photographs show a finely focused eye, which is usually used to draw the viewer into the photograph.  This view doesn’t even encompass the entire eye, but that actually lets your eye wander to the bill and then the drops of water.

This is such a unique photograph and intelligent use of cropping that it dares viewers to go out and try the technique in the field

Featured Photographer for December, 2010 – Maria Macklin, Rugeley, Staffordshire – UK.

My name is Maria Macklin I live in a small town in the centre of the UK.  I am married with two beautiful girls, I have been interested in wildlife photography for many years.  I just love to be outdoors and I am at my happiest with my camera in hand ready to capture all those special moment’s as they happen.  I work full time nowadays so do not get the time to go out and about as often as I’d like.  So I live for the weekends when I try to get out as often as I can.

This shot of the Trumpeter Swan was taken at my local Nature Reserve which I visit on a regular basis.  Lucky for me, it is only a short walk over the fields.

The Trumpeter Swan is not a native bird to the UK so I feel very privileged to have been able to photograph it at all.  It first appeared at the reserve back in April 2007 and I fell in love with it instantly as he was very photogenic and seemed to enjoy all the attention.

The Swan was last seen at the reserve just after some quite severe flooding in the June of 2007 the nature reserve is on a large main river The River Trent which is 274 kilometres (171 miles) long, beginning at it’s source in North Stafford shire in the centre of the UK and ending at it’s mouth where the Trent joins the Humber Estuary.  Another local photographer had seen the swan not long after the flooding on a nearby canal.  I often wonder where he went to and still look out for him when I go out even now.

We are pleased that Maria  was willing to share this “keeper” shot in support of Trumpeter Swans and The Trumpeter Swan Society. Find more of her images at www.flickr.com/photos/ria_macklin

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “The Trumpeter Swan Society December 2010 Photograph of the Month”

  1. David King Says:

    Please be advised that their is a dead adult swan on Burlington Beach this morning roughly half way between Joseph Brant Hospital and the Lift Bridge. Exact GPS coordinates are 43 18’25″N, 79 47’56”

  2. Sandi Estep Says:

    We live on a shallow pond that has been overrun by geese. Two years ago a pair of swans arrived mid-summer and the geese promptly left. They had 6 babies and all disappeared in late fall. Last summer 1 swan returned. While s/he stayed a few weeks, again the geese left but then so did the lone swan. In mid-march this year, our lone swan returned and the geese leave as soon as she appears every day. Does anyone know how I can help her or him attrack a mate. This lone swan is our salvation otherwise we cannot even walk in our back yard due to the slick of feces on the ground. I have priced decoy swans but they are extremely expensive. Thought about a toy inflateable for about $30 but I have no idea if that will work. I just wish we could get our lone swan to call our pond home. Anyone have any suggestions. I live near Chicago if that is of any importance.

Leave a Reply

